Windows 10 is NOT ready for prime-time


I tried to let it update tonight. What a mistake.

Where to begin…

First I went in at the install prompts and undid all the MS spyware that wanted to send everything I did to MS. MS made Facebook seem shy when it comes to snooping. I don’t want Cortana to “help” me.

Then, when it finished installing, the fun began.

It came up at a screen resolution to 1024 x 768 on my 24” Dell monitor. Weird, I thought.

So, I tried to change it to the default 1920 x 1200. I got a black screen. I managed to ctrl/alt/del and FINALLY after several scary seconds of inky darkness get a visible desktop back. But, now it was LOCKED at 1024 x 768. W10 had decided that 1920 x 1200 (or anything else, for that matter) was just too much for it, I guess.

It appears I also had no sounds. It appears I fell victim to a known issue with not having Creative sound card drivers compatible with Windows 10 yet.

Enough, I thought, time to roll this beta release back! So, let’s get on the Internet and look up how to do it.

Internet Explorer launched to a screen to tell me all the neat new features – except it didn’t actually do anything when I clicked on it and tried to use it! Fortunately Chrome would launch and let me search the web to find the instructions to roll back this garbage.

At least the restore feature seems to have worked right (fingers crossed).

Going back to W7 I was stuck by how visually appealing it was compared to blah and drab W10. It really is a pretty OS – and the start menu was loads better on looks and layout. I give MS credit for trying, but their attempt to meld W7 and W8.1 into the W10 start menu was kind of a flop. I will look for a program or hack to emulate W7 fully before even thinking about trying W10 again.

If I try this again it will be with a test machine and likely after at least one service pack. It is too half-baked to risk on a working rig.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Windows 10 is NOT ready for prime-time”

  1. pissed off Says:

    right on !

Leave a Reply

