Cancer diagnosis and the hurricane that will follow


I had a bothersome mole removed from my neck and it came back as a melanoma. No news on staging yet. That will follow a surgery and lymph node testing. I imagine the next few weeks will contain enough medical encounters to develop an allergy to white lab coats.

I will post snippets of the adventures. Please don’t look for any sort stirring let’s all be strong and fight cancer stuff. If you get diagnosed with a melanoma, you basically face treating it or waiting to let it likely kill you.

So, of course you do what can be done right off the bat to see this freeloader can be sent packing.

The worst thing to me about a mortal risk is that it is hard on the rest of the family. I worry more about them than me. All I have to do is get cut on, poked with needles, have my innards dyed, get bathed in lots of radiation, maybe get to swallow several highly toxic chemicals, and maybe some other things even less enjoyable.

Meanwhile, they get to worry a lot.

The irony is that cancer isn’t the disease I feared the most. The scariest illness to me is Alzheimer’s. Sure, cancer can kill your body (let’s hope it doesn’t!), but hopefully my mind will still hold out whatever happens.

Look for updates as I feel like writing them. My family has a strain of gallows humor running through our DNA which I find comforting now. It is likely from the Irish in me.

We not only laugh at death at times — we put a whoopee cushion in his seat when he isn’t looking.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

