Problem with new FireFox 4


I use Norton Identity Safe to manage online forms, log-ins, and passwords. It works fine as an add-on for FireFox 3.6.3, but is not compatible with FireFox 4.

I discovered this the hard way when I upgraded my netbook. So, it looks like no FireFox upgrade until I know that Norton Identity Safe can go with it.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Problem with new FireFox 4”

  1. Jeannie Says:

    Here is the website for the Norton 360 and Norton Internet Security Website hotfixes…..I just installed it and now it works with Firefox 4.

    http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Internet-Security-Norton/Firefox-4-compatibility-hotfix-is-now-available/td-p/428894

  2. jamesacooley Says:

    Update: I tried this with Firefox 4.01 on my home office desktop and it appears that the fix didn’t work with 4.01. I ended up reverting back to Firefox 3.6. At this point, it appears that the Norton Identity Safe toolbar doesn’t work with Explorer 9, Firefox 4.01, or Chrome.

    I have it working with Firefox 4.0 on my netbook, but the 4.01 install screen warns that Identity Safe 5.5 won’t work with the upgrade. So, for now, I am holding the netbook to Firefox 4.0 and ignoring the calls to upgrade.

    I am just going to wait on all the other systems in the household until Norton Internet Security has this as an auto-update item.

  3. jamesacooley Says:

    UPDATE: I finally went to Firefox 5 and was pleased that the Norton’s worked fine with it. But, then I also waited a while to upgrade.

Leave a Reply

