Getting rid of my home phone number.


I have had the same home phone number ever since I arrived in Austin in 1984. It will soon exist no more. I am dropping the home number and going wholly with cell phones. Saving a few bucks is one consideration, but the rest of it is my desire to simply be left alone.

I asked myself why I paid each month to have a venue for bothersome people to: try to sell me something, get me to give to their charity, vote for them, or try to either collect on my daughter’s student loans or refinance them. My daughter doesn’t live with us! She hasn’t for years! Yet, we were getting calls at 8:00 a.m. on Saturday morning from people trying to find her. One guy called me tonight and simply wouldn’t take “no” for an answer. He kept pestering me when I informed him that I wasn’t disclosing her personal contact information absent permission to do so.

Enough! Talk to a “this number is no longer in service” message! If I actually want to talk to you, I will share my cell number or (better yet) my email address. Everyone else who has woken me up, interrupted my meals, pulled me out of the shower, etc., can go bother someone else!

And, as noted above, I save a a few bucks each month in the process. Maybe I will take it and get mobile broadband for the Acer Aspire One.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

