Norton Utilities 14 will DESTROY your Windows 7 install!


I used Norton Utilities 14 with Vista and went to move it to my new Windows 7 build. I tried the registry defrag program — and left my computer wholly unable to boot. It was BSOD beyond all hope of recovery. The only option was to completely reinstall Windows 7 and all my programs. I discovered this is a known bug and that I am not the only one to have faced a complete system destruction as a result. I am beyond disappointed with Norton’s for allowing something like this to occur. My only stroke of luck is that my stuff was still backed up on my old system and a backup drive, so I don’t think I lost any critical data.

NOTE: I have been assured by Norton tech support that this particular bug was fixed in the latest and patched versions of Norton Utilities. However, I have been too nervous to try it and see.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

