Great website for Acer Aspire One owners


I found this Acer Aspire One blog when trying to recover from a corrupted bios that had rendered my beloved Acer Aspire One netbook dead as a brick. It died the day before leaving for a five-day conference and I was frantically trying to revive it for the trip.

http://macles.blogspot.com/

They had a detailed step-by-step detailed post on how to do an emergency bios restoration using a bootable USB memory stick. It even explained how to tweak it to install the latest bios in the process. My machine turned out to be very fussy about which USB port it would accept as a bootable one, but after trying all three available ports — the last one worked! Yippee!

This is the post that walked me through the restoration process:

http://macles.blogspot.com/2008/08/acer-aspire-one-bios-recovery.html

My little Acer now lives again and will get to travel to Las Vegas instead of going off to Acer’s technical support to restore a bios.

Please note that this is not the standard way to upgrade an Acer Aspire One bios. It is reserved for emergencies that require a bios restoration – which describes perfectly my machine at the time. You pushed the power button and got nothing but a black screen. It was basically a little blue doorstop.

Anyhow, if you have an Acer Aspire One, this is a blog to add to your bookmarks.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Great website for Acer Aspire One owners”

  1. Acer 8.9 Says:

    Acer Aspire One AOA150-1672
    I love this little laptop. It is so worth the money! With the extended battery, I can have it for all of my classes, and it is so small it fits right in my purse. Also, when seen, several people comment on how cute it is, not that that’s a truly important spec, but it’s nice to have a little nerd-envy. I would recommend this to anybody looking for a light computing laptop, or a college student looking for something to bring to class. Though the keyboard is small, it’s easy enough to get used to, as I am typing on it right now. My favorite thing about this laptop, is how fast it is while booting up and shutting down. I don’t have to wait nearly as long as I used to with my old laptop!

    • jamesacooley Says:

      I agree, that little Acer is a winner. It performed flawlessly for my five days on the road on the Las Vegas trip, by the way. My mom used it to find her a rental car deal and came away with “Aspire One envy”.

      I may eventually have to pop for the larger battery to get the extra time. However, most of th time I work near outlets, so it hasn’t been a real problem.

      I may have to look at the next iterations of this little road machine, as I see them getting good reviews.

Leave a Reply

